Mark Weber’s “Days Like These”

Mark_Weber_Days_Like_TheseMark Weber’s “Days Like These” is a collection of songs from the creator of Christian Music Makers.

They’re songs of “loss, hope and love.” Mark Weber’s deep tenor voice and emotionally-honest songwriting style has been compared to artists like Elvis Costello, John Hiatt, and Leonard Cohen. His heartfelt collection is over a decade in the making, and features moving pop-R&B songs like “Wandering,” “That’s What You Do,” “Season of Sadness,” and “There Are Days.”

“I wanted to make an album of songs that a listener could put on, listen to, and allow themselves to let their emotions out,” says Mark Weber. “My song ‘Season of Sadness’ is a perfect example of a song of mine where I talk about how life can get us down and we get into a ‘season of sadness,’ but then at the end of that song I say, ‘With God I am strong, by faith I’ll carry on, and say goodbye to this season of sadness.’ I consider that song to be a song of declaration, one that can help people decide for themselves to move into a season of gladness.”

“Season of Sadness” and Weber’s “That’s What You Do” are the two most “R&B” songs on the album. The other songs are best described as pop, Top 40, adult contemporary tunes, and the common theme is “loss, hope and love.”

In the song “There Are Days,” Mark Weber manages to make a song that sounds like The Beatles meets John Mayer, complete with an awesome guitar solo by The Reign of Kindo’s Joe Secchiaroli. The blunt song says, “There are days when I feel hopeless, there are days I want to die, there are days I just can’t get up, no matter how hard I try, so I lift my eyes to heaven, when I’m desperate for love, and a ray of blinding sunlight shines downs from up above.” The song goes on to say “love meets me where I am.” Mark Weber says the listener can interpret that lyric as God meeting them, since “God is love.”

Having lost his grandparents during the past few years, Weber wrote two songs specifically about that experience: “Wandering” and “Live Life For Today.”

“When you hear Wandering, know that every word in that song is true,” he says. “I wrote that directly from my experience. When I sing, ‘looked for your grave but couldn’t find it,’ I literally did that. ‘Wandering’ is a song about how a person feels after someone they loved dies and they feel lost without them.”

“Live Life For Today” came out of Mark Weber’s experience of caring for his elderly grandparents on their long, slow road to death.

“The two saddest moments of my life were when I wheeled my grandmother to the lobby of the nursing home to meet with my grandpa and she cried to him, ‘Get me out of here,’ and there was nothing he could do about that. Then, just a little while later, I had to tell my grandpa that his wife had died. Just devastating,” says Weber. “If you listen to the song ‘Live Life For Today,’ the lyrics are about my grandparents and how they lost their abilities and faculties in old age. At one point I sing, ‘This is heartbreak, it’s making me cry.’ I am sure a lot of people are or will be in my same boat, watching their elderly loved ones pass away.” The song’s chorus proclaims “Live life for today, come what may,” as a reminder to the young that everyday is a gift and they need to do what they want to do before age or circumstance prevents them from doing so.

Mark Weber spent years and years and years making this collection of songs.

“‘Days Like These’ exists because I never gave up, despite many setbacks,” he says. “First I had to learn how to write songs and find confidence to think they were any good. Then I had to find producers, and spend hours and hours and hours with them to help me record the music. Then I had to sing the songs and get friends to sing ’em with me. Finally, I had to figure out all that goes with putting songs online for sale and promoting them. I had little to no guidance for the process, and doing everything on my own was, and is, very hard, not to mention expensive. Brad Blackwood in Memphis mastered my album, and that alone cost a pretty penny. I could have flown to Hawaii and stayed in a nice resort for a while, to give you an idea of how much I paid for mastering. Blackwood’s one of the best, though– he has worked with ZZ Top, Maroon 5 and Black Eyed Peas, so when you hear my music, it ‘pops’ out your speakers because Brad Blackwood gave it extra sizzle.”

After a lengthy process to prepare the music for sale, Mark Weber’s “Days Like These” is now on cdbaby.com as well as the most popular download service online: iTunes.

Published by

Mark Weber

Mark Weber publishes the MarkWeberMusicBlog.