Christian music maker Cheri Keaggy’s Thanksgiving message

Christian music maker Cheri Keaggy has this news to share:

I have had a wonderful run out on the road this Fall–participating in “An Evening With Jesus” at Calvary Chapel Costa Mesa and TV appearances on Crystal Cathedral’s Hour of Power and WATC TV-57’s Atlanta LIVE. I’ve been in California, Indiana, Ohio, upstate New York, Nevada, Texas, and Long Island…yes, we had power and Power! We celebrated communion together and welcomed a new believer into the family of God. Before year’s end, I’ll be in Michigan and Tennessee, home-sweet-home. My motivation: God’s goodness. “For I cannot help speaking about what I have seen and heard.” (Acts 4:20)  It is not because of who I am, but because of Who He is in and through me that God continues to use my story for His glory. I have much to be thankful for.

Friends, beyond turkey and dressing and pumpkin pie, whether celebrating with family or separated from them by miles or circumstance, my prayer for you this Thanksgiving season is this: that you may taste and see that the Lord is good…and give thanks. Maybe it looks more like a sacrifice of praise for you this year. I can remember many times choosing to praise Him in spite of my circumstance, even when I didn’t feel like it. In her book One Thousand Gifts, Ann Voskamp wrote, “Thanksgiving is the evidence of our acceptance of whatever He gives.” She also wrote, citing Psalm 50:23, that our very saving is associated with our gratitude…He who sacrifices thank offerings honors me, and he prepares the way so that I may show him the salvation of God. 

Remember His goodness. Rehearse it in your mind. Dare to speak it out loud. For, as Julian of Norwich said, “The highest form of prayer is the goodness of God…God only desires that our soul cling to Him with all of its strength, in particular, that it clings to His goodness. For of all the things our minds can think about God, it is thinking upon His goodness that pleases Him most and brings the most profit to our soul.” Amen.

Published by

Mark Weber

Mark Weber publishes the MarkWeberMusicBlog.

Leave a Reply

